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Children ages 6-18 must ride secured | N N E B RAS KA

in a safety belt or child safety seat.

For best possible protection children
should be buckled in a rear-facing car
seat, in the back seat, until age 2. crashes. As a technician, you can

Prevent unintentional injuries in car

Buckle all children age 12 and under help to make sure that every child is
in the back seat. Airbags can kill buckled up correctly each time they

young children riding in the front seat. ride in the car.

Buckle up each trip—every trip!

Car seats reduce the risk of fatal
injury in cars by 71 percent for K== LB
infants and 54 percent for foddlers. BES L\, — °
In SUVs, pickups and vans, they EE"‘,
reduce the risk by 58 percent for ﬁg

infants and 59 percent for toddlers.

IS YOUR CHILD IN THE
RIGHT CAR SEAT?
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Make a difference

Join the more than 300 child passenger safety (CPS)
technicians and instructors in our state. Techs hail
from hospitals, health departments, police and fire
departments and safety advocates. Most of the CPS
techs are volunteers and their common bond is that
they care deeply about kids and their community.

CPS technicians, mostly parents and volunteers, en-
joy working together in the community at events to
assist families, making sure children are in the right
seat and it's used correctly!

Communities need more volunteers to support the
inspection stations and check-up events.

Class schedule is: typically three 8 hour days; lunch
and a snack are provided; and a 4 hour check event
on the last day.

Become a CPS Technician and support your local
area today!

Visit us at: www.transportation.nebraska.gov

How to get trained

The national standardized child passenger safety
technician certification course is 3-4 days long. It
combines classroom instructions, and hands-on
course work with car seats and vehicles. Best of all,
the community safety seat check event gives you
real hands-on experience and allows new techs the
opportunity to demonstrate proper car seat installa-
tion and parent education.

You must attend the full training. Upon successful
completion you will receive certification. Your CPS
certification is good for two years and requires re-
newal, through CEU’s and seat checks, every two
years.

Registration

Sign up for your CPS training by registering online
today at cert.safekids.org. Nebraska has at least four
trainings across the state every year. For more infor-
mation about becoming a technician, check out Safe
Kids Nebraska.

Class Feedback

1 had no idea there was so much to learn.
Class size was great! Thank you for
equipping us to keep Nebraska safe.
Omaha Tech

1 really liked the way this class was
presented! Scottsbluff Tech

Why We Do This

o National certification goes from state
to state.

e Support a community program that
has great need and is highly visible
(i.e., Safe Kids Nebraska).

e Be your agency’s local resource for
child passenger safety.

o Participate in and/or start a child
safety seat inspection station in your
community, helping neighbors, par-
ents and caregivers.

e Help families transport children safely
and understand Nebraska restraint
laws.

Contact Us

Simera Reynolds, M.Ed.

Nebraska Office of Highway Safety
Phone: 402-471-2017
simera.reynolds@nebraska.gov

Jason Kerkman, MPH
Safe Kids Coordinator/ DHHS
Phone: 402-471-8749
jason.kerkman@nebraska.gov



http://cert.safekids.org/
http://www.safekidsnebraska.org/C:/Users/DOR23063/Documents/Add-in%20Express
http://www.safekidsnebraska.org/C:/Users/DOR23063/Documents/Add-in%20Express
http://www.transportation.nebraska.gov/nohs/cps.html

