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2018 MADD Nebraska Court Monitoring Briefing  

 
 
Introduction 
States can have strong laws and tough enforcement but without consistent outcomes in 
the court system the message that drunk driving is a serious crime may get lost. The 
court system is our society’s mechanism for determining an individual’s guilt or 
innocence. It also sets the parameters of an offender’s punishment, restitution and 
rehabilitation.  
 
Over the past two years, the number of drunk driving deaths nationwide has increased 
after years of steady decline. Despite a cultural shift in America since Mothers Against 
Drunk Driving® (MADD) was founded in 1980, drunk driving still remains the biggest 
killer on our nation’s roadways. More than 10,800 people were killed in drunk driving 
crashes in 2017.  

MADD believes there will come a day when there are No More Victims® of drunk 
driving. MADD’s guiding force to achieve this goal is the Campaign to Eliminate Drunk 
Driving — supporting high-visibility law enforcement, advocating for ignition interlocks 
for all drunk driving offenders, pushing for development of advanced vehicle technology 
and drawing upon public support for these initiatives.  

A Look at Drunk Driving in Nebraska 
In 2018, 33 percent of fatal crashes were alcohol-related in Nebraska. This number is 
down slightly from the average of 34 percent of the previous four years (2014-2017). 
The number of DUI Arrests have decreased from 10,718 in 2012 to 6,827 in 2018 while 
the Alcohol Related Fatal Crashes and Fatalities has varied over the years. 

Year DUI Arrests DUI Convictions Alcohol Related 
Fatal Crashes 

Alcohol Related 
Fatalities 

2011 12,207 10,549 49 51 

2012 10,718 9,528 81 87 

2013 9,343 8,703 65 70 

2014 8,617 7,576 75 78 

2015 8,199 7,136 71 81 

2016 7,311 6,594 73 81 

2017 6,877 6,203 63 71 

2018 6,827 6,210 66 77 

 

MADD Nebraska and Highway Safety Advocates can work on reducing the number of 
alcohol-related motor vehicle crashes on state roadways by addressing the number of 
arrests and convictions for all offenses. Court monitoring is intended to enhance 
transparency and accountability within the criminal justice system and reduce the 
likelihood of repeat drunk driving offenses. Studies show that consistently placing an 
observer in the courtroom has a positive effect on case disposition. Standardized 
reporting used by court monitors contributes to an increase in information that can result 
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in higher conviction rates. When monitors cannot be in court, they collect data through 
online records in a process called data mining.  

The Case for Court Monitoring 
Research has shown that first-time DUI offenders have driven drunk an average of 87 
times before they are arrested (Zader, Krawchuk, Moore, 1997). The primary reason 
drivers continue to drive drunk is because they can. Nationally, about one-third of all 
drivers arrested for DUI have had a previous drunk driving conviction, which is similar to 
Nebraska’s rate. Across the country, DUI cases are often handled inconsistently, 
amended to a lesser charge, or simply dismissed by the justice system. MADD 
Nebraska advocates for swift and equitable treatment for all DUI cases.  
 
MADD’s Court Monitoring Program (CMP) was designed to ensure that DUI arrests are 
prosecuted, unwarranted dismissals are decreased and justice is achieved. Goals of the 
CMP are to: 

• Compile pertinent information on how DUI court cases are handled from county 
to county. 

• Share mutual concerns about the outcomes of criminal cases with professionals 
in the legal arena. 

• Report information gathered by trained volunteers to relevant entities and 
community members to ensure the system can be maintained and improved. 

 
To achieve these goals, MADD Nebraska utilized trained volunteers to observe court 
procedures and collect pertinent information in DUI cases. Types of data collected 
included offense type, age and gender of the offender and sanctions imposed. MADD 
also worked closely with law enforcement, prosecutors and vested partners to relay 
data collected from the court monitoring program to show trends, patterns and 
behaviors when it comes to drunk driving enforcement and prosecution in those 
counties. 

County Selection 
The fifteen priority counties included in the MADD Court Monitoring Evaluation and 
Education Project account for 1,414,651 residents or 74% of the Nebraska population. 
The fifteen counties are: Adams, Buffalo, Custer, Dodge, Douglas, Gage, Hall, 
Lancaster, Lincoln, Madison, Platte, Sarpy, Saunders, Washington and York. These 
counties were identified by the Nebraska Office of Highway Safety (NOHS) as having 
either a high crash rate for alcohol, speed and/or alcohol use by youth. 

The target population consists of offenders arrested for DUI. It is imperative that courts 
take a strong look at the effectiveness of DUI adjudication and how those actions 
contribute to the progress in reducing impaired driving fatalities and recidivism. 
Residents will benefit from a court monitoring program focused on the criminal justice 
system and sentencing outcomes. MADD Nebraska worked closely with law 
enforcement, prosecutors, court personnel, and vested partners to collect data. 
Information will illustrate trends, patterns, and behaviors surrounding impaired driving 
enforcement and prosecution.  
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Quantitative Data Collection 
Court Monitoring Program data were obtained from two sources: court trial forms, 
completed by MADD Nebraska staff and volunteers, and the Nebraska Trial Courts 
Case Search System database, hereafter called Justice. CMP volunteers included 
concerned community members, college students interested in volunteering and/or 
requiring internship hours for a class, and retired adults. Data from the court trial forms 
were collected from four categories: 1) case information, 2) charges, 3) 
sanctions/sentence and 4) comments.  Examples of case information included 
defendant name, date of birth and name and location of court.  Charges recorded 
included the original charge, final charge, amended, and arresting agency.  Examples of 
sanctions/sentences imposed included jail time, fines, ignition interlock, license 
suspension/revocation, and probation. 
 
Information collected by court program monitors were verified by MADD Nebraska CMP 
staff through records accessed from Justice. This database provided a detailed record 
of each DUI case presented to the court. Case information, charges, and sanctions 
imposed were available through the Justice system. Data obtained from the Justice 
database was compared to information recorded on the court trial form to assure 
accuracy of data collection by court program monitors. 
 
Case files with Case Year 2018 were utilized for the data collection. Close to one 
hundred percent of all cases were included in the analysis if a county had 300 or fewer 
DUI arrests in the year of interest for analysis. If a county had more than 300 DUI 
arrests (i.e., Hall County) a random number of cases, for a total of close to 300 were 
chosen for analysis for expedited data analysis. 
 

Data Analysis 
Data from closed and misdemeanor DUI cases with sanctions imposed were entered 
into Microsoft Excel spreadsheets for analysis. Variables of interest for this report 
included rulings, number and type of amended cases, length of case, offender age and 
gender, offense type, and sanctions imposed. Data was reported by frequencies, 
percentages, and averages.  
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Case Analysis for all 15 Counties: Adams, Buffalo, Custer, Dodge, Douglas, Gage, 

Hall, Lancaster, Lincoln, Madison, Platte, Sarpy, Saunders, Washington and York 

Statewide there were 6,827 arrests recorded by NDOT – Office of Highway Safety in 

2018. MADD analyzed 2,297 DUI cases that occurred in 2018. This represents 34% of 

the total cases. These cases were primarily misdemeanor charges, unless the individual 

was charged with a DUI 3rd .15+ or higher – those are considered felony offenses in the 

state of Nebraska. Of the 2,297 cases, 2,288 were closed and adjudicated by the time 

this report was printed. One case had a bench warrant and 8 cases were still open and 

in the process of going through the judicial system. 

Year  2018 

# of Cases Analyzed 2,297 

# of Cases Adjudicated* 2,288 

# of Bench Warrants 1 

# of Open Cases 8 
*Numbers do not include Bench Warrant or Open Cases 
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Adjudication Summary for all 15 Counties in 2018: 

Below is a breakdown of the findings for the 2,288 closed cases. Fifty five percent of the 

offenders pled and were found guilty of the original DUI charge. Thirty six percent of the 

offenders pled and were found guilty of an amended DUI charge. MADD believes that 

all who are charged with DUI offenses should be prosecuted as charged, rather than be 

allowed to negotiate to a lesser offense, especially a non-alcohol related offense.  

  # of Cases 2018 

Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 1,217 

Not Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 7 

Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 796 

Not Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 0 

Pleas to Non DUI Charge 176 

Dismissed 91 

Transferred 1 
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County Demographics 2018: 

The table below shows a comprehensive count for all fifteen counties, including gender 
and age breakdowns. Total counts and the overall average age are also included.  
 

County Males Females 
16-20 
years 

21-25 
years 

26-39 
years 

40+ 
years 

Average    
Age 

Adams ( n=94) 72 22 7 31 29 27 35 

Buffalo (n=129) 98 21 7 33 48 41 34 

Custer (n=27) 24 3 1 8 12 6 33 

Dodge (n=168) 131 37 8 34 71 55 36 

Douglas (n=341) 227 114 21 73 169 78 33 

Gage (n=73) 53 20 3 21 30 19 33 

Hall (n=294) 239 55 27 60 121 86 34 

Lancaster (n=341) 273 68 21 55 163 102 35 

Lincoln (n=142) 109 33 3 21 64 54 38 

Madison (n=99) 80 19 10 17 43 29 35 

Platte (n=134) 107 27 10 23 62 39 35 

Sarpy (n=292) 226 66 12 54 126 100 36 

Saunders (n=47) 38 9 4 9 18 16 35 

Washington (n=81) 60 21 3 14 28 38 38 

York (n=35) 30 5 3 6 12 14 37 

Totals (n=2,297) 1,767 520 140 459 996 704 35 

n=number of cases analyzed      
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DUI Conviction Rates 2018: 

The average conviction rate for all fifteen counties was 88%. Buffalo, Dodge, Douglas, 
Lancaster and Sarpy Counties all had a 90% conviction rate or higher. Data included in 
this report was retrieved from Justice. Open, dismissed, bench warrant and cases 
transferred to Juvenile court were excluded from analysis to capture sanctioning 
practices of adjudicated DUI cases only. 
 

County 2018 Conviction Rate 

Adams ( n=94) 73% 

Buffalo (n=128) 90% 

Custer (n=27) 81% 

Dodge (n=168) 92% 

Douglas (n=339) 93% 

Gage (n=72) 68% 

Hall (n=293) 82% 

Lancaster (n=337) 96% 

Lincoln (n=142) 89% 

Madison (n=99) 86% 

Platte (n=134) 78% 

Sarpy (n=292) 93% 

Saunders (n=47) 79% 

Washington (n=81) 88% 

York (n=35) 80% 

Totals (n=2,288) 88% 

n=adjudicated cases 
 

 
 

 

73%

90%
81%

92% 93%

68%

82%

96%
89% 86%

78%

93%

79%
88%

80%

0%

20%

40%

60%

80%

100%

120%

2018 Conviction Rate



 
 

8 
 

Case Length 2018: 

The average time it took for a DUI case to be adjudicated, from arrest date to conviction 
date, for the fifteen counties was 141 days. The range ran from 103 days in York 
County to 205 days in Lancaster County. 
 

County Average Length of Case (in days) 

Adams ( n=94) 174 

Buffalo (n=128) 160 

Custer (n=27) 120 

Dodge (n=168) 111 

Douglas (n=339) 139 

Gage (n=72) 129 

Hall (n=293) 122 

Lancaster (n=337) 205 

Lincoln (n=142) 129 

Madison (n=99) 129 

Platte (n=134) 125 

Sarpy (n=292) 167 

Saunders (n=47) 157 

Washington (n=81) 149 

York (n=35) 103 

Average:  141 days 

n=adjudicated cases 
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DUI Amended Cases 2018: 

The total percentage of amended cases for all fifteen Counties was 42%. The proportion 
of total amended cases ranged from less than 1% in Lancaster County to 85% in Custer 
County. 
 

County 

Total 
Amended       

Cases 

Percent of 
Amended 

Cases 

Amended to 
a Lesser DUI 

Charge 

Amended to a 
Higher DUI 

Charge 

Amended to a 
Non-DUI 
Charge 

Adams (n=94) 60 64% 40 1 19 

Buffalo (n=128) 78 61% 68 0 10 

Custer (n=27) 23 85% 18 0 5 

Dodge (n=168) 78 46% 66 1 11 

Douglas (n=339) 181 53% 161 1 19 

Gage (n=72) 26 36% 10 0 16 

Hall (n=293) 71 24% 40 14 17 

Lancaster (n=337) 15 1% 13 0 2 

Lincoln (n=142) 73 51% 67 0 6 

Madison (n=99) 55 56% 42 0 13 

Platte (n=134) 63 47% 46 0 17 

Sarpy (n=292) 166 57% 150 0 16 

Saunders (n=47) 32 68% 21 1 10 

Washington (n=81) 34 42% 24 1 9 

York (n=35) 17 49% 11 0 6 

Totals (n=2,288) 972 42% 777 19 176 

n=adjudicated cases 
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Ignition Interlock 2018  

In Nebraska, ignition interlock installation became mandatory for all those convicted of 

DUI in 2013. Ignition interlocks save lives by requiring convicted drunk drivers to prove 

they are sober before their car will start. Ignition interlocks are proven effective — on 

average, ignition interlocks reduce repeat drunk driving offenses by 67 percent. 

 

County Ignition Interlock Ordered % 

Adams (n=69) 66 96% 

Buffalo (n=115) 99 86% 

Custer (n=22) 21 95% 

Dodge (n=154) 148 96% 

Douglas (n=315) 229 73% 

Gage (n=49) 12 24% 

Hall (n=241) 236 98% 

Lancaster (n=325) 296 91% 

Lincoln (n=127) 119 94% 

Madison (n=85) 75 88% 

Platte (n=104) 103 99% 

Sarpy (n=271) 261 96% 

Saunders (n=37) 37 100% 

Washington (n=71) 68 96% 

York (n=28) 28 100% 

Totals (n=2,013) 1,798 89% 

n= guilty cases  
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County Overview Breakdown: 

The following pages breakdown each of the 15 counties in detail, showing 

Demographics, Age Range, Case Information, Adjudication Summary and Amended 

Case Information. DUI offense and sanction details are also included for each county. 

Fourteen sanctions imposed for DUI offenders for each county were recorded. The 

sanctions included: Fines, Fees, Jail, Probation, Revoked License, Impound License, 

Interlock, Victim Impact Panel, Attitudinal Dynamics, AA, Alcohol Education, Community 

Service, House Arrest and Immobilize Vehicle. The following data regarding sanctions 

imposed in each county were based on data from the Justice system only. 

Consequently, some of the data presented, or lack thereof, may not be a complete 

representation of the sanction practices in each county. There may be additional 

sanctions included in probation orders and MADD is not able to access those records. 
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Adams County Overview 2018 
Demographics: 

Males 72 

Females 22 

 
Age Range of Offender: 

16 – 20 years 7 

21 – 25 years 31 

26 – 39 years 29 

40+ years 27 

Average Age of Offender 35 

 
Case Information: 

Cases Analyzed 94 

Adjudicated* 94 

Bench Warrant 0 

Open Cases 0 

Average Length of Case* 174 Days 

*Numbers do not include Bench Warrant Cases or Open Cases 

Adjudication Summary: 

Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 28 

Not Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 1 

Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 41 

Not Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 0 

Pleas to Non DUI Charge 19 

Dismissed 5 

Transferred 0 

 

Amended Case Information: 

 

Non 
DUI 

DUI 
1st 

DUI 1st 
.15+ 

DUI 
2nd 

DUI 2nd 
.15+ 

DUI 
3rd 

DUI 3rd 
.15+ 

DUI 
4th 

DUI 4th 
.15+ 

DUI 1st 13         

DUI 1st .15+ 4 25        

DUI 2nd 1 5   1     

DUI 2nd .15+ 1 2 2 1      

DUI 3rd  2        

DUI 3rd .15+     2     

DUI 4th          

DUI 4th .15+       1   

DUI 5th          
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 Adams County Overview page 2 
DUI 1st       DUI 1st .15+ 

Cases found guilty:  57        Cases found guilty: 6 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine $500 

Fees (Average) $98 Fees (Average) $160 

Jail 15 cases; 7-60 days Jail 5 cases; 2-10 days 

Probation 24 cases; 6 -9 mo.to court 
18 cases; 6-18 months 

Probation 2 cases; 6-12 months 

Revoked License 57 cases; 60-180 days Revoked License 6 cases; 2-12 months 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 56 Interlock 5 

Victim Impact Panel 15 Victim Impact Panel 1 

Attitudinal Dynamics 3 Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA 1 AA  

Alcohol Education 8 Alcohol Education 1 

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 2nd      DUI 2nd .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 1     Cases found guilty: 4 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine $1,000 

Fees (Average) $497 Fees (Average) $548 

Jail 1 case; 10 days Jail 4 cases; 30 days 

Probation 1 case; 18 months Probation 4 cases; 12-24 months 

Revoked License 1 case; 18 months Revoked License 4 cases; 18-24 months 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 1 Interlock 4 

Victim Impact Panel 1 Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education 1 

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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 Adams County Overview page 3 
DUI 3rd       DUI 3rd .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 0     Cases found guilty: 1 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine  Fine  

Fees (Average)  Fees (Average) $906 

Jail  Jail 1 case; 3 years 

Probation  Probation 1 case; 18 months 

Revoked License  Revoked License 15 years 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock  Interlock  

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 4th Sanctions      DUI 4th .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 0     Cases found guilty: 0 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine  Fine  

Fees (Average)  Fees (Average)  

Jail  Jail  

Probation  Probation  

Revoked License  Revoked License  

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock  Interlock  

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Buffalo County Overview 2018 
Demographics: 

Males 98 

Females 21 

 
Age Range of Offender: 

16 – 20 years 7 

21 – 25 years 33 

26 – 39 years 48 

40+ years 41 

Average Age of Offender 34 

 
Case Information: 

Cases Analyzed 129 

Adjudicated* 128 

Bench Warrant 0 

Open Cases 1 

Average Length of Case* 160 Days 

*Numbers do not include Bench Warrant Cases or Open Cases 

Adjudication Summary: 

Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 47 

Not Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 0 

Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 68 

Not Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 0 

Pleas to Non DUI Charge 10 

Dismissed 3 

Transferred 0 

 

Amended Case Information: 

 

Non 
DUI 

DUI 
1st 

DUI 1st 
.15+ 

DUI 
2nd 

DUI 2nd 
.15+ 

DUI 
3rd 

DUI 3rd 
.15+ 

DUI 
4th 

DUI 4th 
.15+ 

DUI 1st 8         

DUI 1st .15+ 2 50        

DUI 2nd  1        

DUI 2nd .15+  3 2 5      

DUI 3rd          

DUI 3rd .15+    1 1 5    

DUI 4th          

DUI 4th .15+          
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Buffalo County Overview page 2 
DUI 1st       DUI 1st .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 87         Cases found guilty: 6 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine $500 

Fees (Average) $156 Fees (Average) $190 

Jail 16 cases; 7-50 days Jail 4 cases; 2-15 days 

Probation 13 cases; 6-24 months 
61 cases; 6-12 months to court 

Probation 2 cases; 12-18 months 
3 cases; 9-12 months to court 

Revoked License 86 cases; 30-365 days Revoked License 6 cases; 60-365 days 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 80 Interlock 6 

Victim Impact Panel 69 Victim Impact Panel 4 

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA 6 AA 1 

Alcohol Education 51 Alcohol Education 1 

Community Service  Community Service 1 case; 120 hours 

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 2nd      DUI 2nd .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 7     Cases found guilty: 3 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine $1,000 

Fees (Average) $551 Fees (Average) $527 

Jail 7 cases; 7-180 days Jail 3 cases; 30-100  days 

Probation 6 cases; 6-24 months Probation 2 cases; 18 months 

Revoked License 6 cases; 18 months Revoked License 3 cases; 18 months-3yrs 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 6 Interlock 1 

Victim Impact Panel 3 Victim Impact Panel 2 

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA 1 AA 1 

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education 1 

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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 Buffalo County Overview page 3 
DUI 3rd       DUI 3rd .15+ 

Cases found guilty:  8     Cases found guilty: 2 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $1,000 Fine $1,000 

Fees (Average) $877 Fees (Average) $2,050 

Jail 8 cases; 30 - 365 days Jail 2 cases; 60 days 

Probation 4 cases; 2 years Probation 2 cases; 4-5 years 

Revoked License 8 cases; 2-15 years Revoked License 2 cases; 7 years 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 5 Interlock  

Victim Impact Panel 3 Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA 2 AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 4th       DUI 4th .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 0     Cases found guilty: 2 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine  Fine $1,000 

Fees (Average)  Fees (Average) $1,300 

Jail  Jail 2 cases; 120 days-10 
years 

Probation  Probation 1 case; 5 years 

Revoked License  Revoked License 2 cases; 15 years 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock  Interlock  

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Custer County Overview 2018 
Demographics: 

Males 24 

Females 3 

 
Age Range of Offender: 

16 – 20 years 1 

21 – 25 years 8 

26 – 39 years 12 

40+ years 6 

Average Age of Offender 33 

 
Case Information: 

Cases Analyzed 27 

Adjudicated* 27 

Bench Warrant 0 

Open Cases 0 

Average Length of Case* 120 Days 

*Numbers do not include Bench Warrant Cases or Open Cases 

Adjudication Summary: 

Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 4 

Not Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 0 

Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 18 

Not Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 0 

Pleas to Non DUI Charge 5 

Dismissed 0 

Transferred 0 

 

Amended Case Information: 

 

Non 
DUI 

DUI 
1st 

DUI 1st 
.15+ 

DUI 
2nd 

DUI 2nd 
.15+ 

DUI 
3rd 

DUI 3rd 
.15+ 

DUI 
4th 

DUI 4th 
.15+ 

DUI 1st 4         

DUI 1st .15+ 1 9        

DUI 2nd  1        

DUI 2nd .15+  2 2       

DUI 3rd          

DUI 3rd .15+    3  1    

DUI 4th          

DUI 4th .15+          

DUI 5th          
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 Custer County Overview page 2 
DUI 1st       DUI 1st .15+ 

Cases found guilty:  13        Cases found guilty: 4 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine $500 

Fees (Average) $437 Fees (Average) $399 

Jail 1 case; 30 days Jail 4 cases; 2-10 days 

Probation 12 cases; 6-12 months Probation 3 cases; 12 months 

Revoked License 13 cases; 60-180 days Revoked License 4 cases; 6-12 months 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 13 Interlock 4 

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education 7 Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 2nd      DUI 2nd .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 4     Cases found guilty: 0 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine  

Fees (Average) $199 Fees (Average)  

Jail 3 cases; 30-120 days Jail  

Probation 1 case; 18 months Probation  

Revoked License 4 cases; 18 months Revoked License  

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 4 Interlock  

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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 Custer County Overview page 3 
DUI 3rd       DUI 3rd .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 1     Cases found guilty: 0 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $1,000 Fine  

Fees (Average) $352 Fees (Average)  

Jail 1 case; 90 days Jail  

Probation  Probation  

Revoked License 1 case; 15 years Revoked License  

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock  Interlock  

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 4th Sanctions      DUI 4th .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 0     Cases found guilty: 0 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine  Fine  

Fees (Average)  Fees (Average)  

Jail  Jail  

Probation  Probation  

Revoked License  Revoked License  

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock  Interlock  

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Dodge County Overview 2018 
Demographics: 

Males 131 

Females 37 

 
Age Range of Offender: 

16 – 20 years 8 

21 – 25 years 34 

26 – 39 years 71 

40+ years 55 

Average Age of Offender 36 

 
Case Information: 

Cases Analyzed 168 

Adjudicated* 168 

Bench Warrant 0 

Open Cases 0 

Average Length of Case* 111 Days 

*Numbers do not include Bench Warrant Cases or Open Cases 

Adjudication Summary: 

Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 87 

Not Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 0 

Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 67 

Not Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 0 

Pleas to Non DUI Charge 11 

Dismissed 3 

Transferred 0 

 

Amended Case Information: 

 

Non 
DUI 

DUI 
1st 

DUI 1st 
.15+ 

DUI 
2nd 

DUI 2nd 
.15+ 

DUI 
3rd 

DUI 3rd 
.15+ 

DUI 
4th 

DUI 4th 
.15+ 

DUI 1st 7         

DUI 1st .15+  36   1     

DUI 2nd 3 8        

DUI 2nd .15+  1 5 10      

DUI 3rd 1   2      

DUI 3rd .15+      2    

DUI 4th          

DUI 4th .15+       1 1  

DUI 5th          
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 Dodge County Overview page 2 
DUI 1st       DUI 1st .15+ 

Cases found guilty:  89       Cases found guilty: 29 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine $500 

Fees (Average) $270 Fees (Average) $261 

Jail 22 cases; 2-30 days Jail 16 cases; 2-12 days 

Probation 69 cases; 6-18 months Probation 17 cases; 6-18 months 

Revoked License 89 cases; 30-365 days Revoked License 29 cases; 60-365 days 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 87 Interlock 28 

Victim Impact Panel 1 Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA 2 AA  

Alcohol Education 1 Alcohol Education  

Community Service 32 cases; 30-60 hours Community Service 9 cases; 60-140 hours 

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 2nd      DUI 2nd .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 15    Cases found guilty: 7 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine $1,000 

Fees (Average) $379 Fees (Average) $353 

Jail 8 cases; 10-30 days Jail 6 cases;  30-90 days 

Probation 11 cases; 12 months Probation 6 cases; 18-24 months 

Revoked License 15 cases; 18 months Revoked License 7 cases; 18 m.-15 years 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 14 Interlock 6 

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service 7 cases; 240 hours Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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 Dodge County Overview page 3 
DUI 3rd       DUI 3rd .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 5      Cases found guilty: 6 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $1,000 Fine $1,000 

Fees (Average) $488 Fees (Average) $944 

Jail 5 cases; 30-180 days Jail 6 cases; 2-18 months 

Probation 3 cases; 24 months Probation 5 cases; 12-30 months 

Revoked License 5 cases; 2-15 years Revoked License 6 cases; 8-15 years 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 5 Interlock 6 

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service 3 cases; 120-130 hours 

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 4th Sanctions      DUI 4th .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 3     Cases found guilty: 0 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $2,000 Fine  

Fees (Average) $547 Fees (Average)  

Jail 3 cases; 90-365 days Jail  

Probation 2 cases; 12-30 months Probation  

Revoked License 3 case; 15 years Revoked License  

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 3 Interlock  

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service 1 case; 120 hours Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Douglas County Overview 2018 
Demographics: 

Males 227 

Females 114 

 
Age Range of Offender: 

16 – 20 years 21 

21 – 25 years 73 

26 – 39 years 169 

40+ years 78 

Average Age of Offender 33 

 
Case Information: 

Cases Analyzed 341 

Adjudicated* 339 

Bench Warrant 1 

Open Cases 1 

Average Length of Case* 139 Days 

*Numbers do not include Bench Warrant Cases or Open Cases 

Adjudication Summary: 

Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 153 

Not Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 0 

Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 162 

Not Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 0 

Pleas to Non DUI Charge 19 

Dismissed 4 

Transferred 1 

 

Amended Case Information: 

 

Non 
DUI 

DUI 
1st 

DUI 1st 
.15+ 

DUI 
2nd 

DUI 2nd 
.15+ 

DUI 
3rd 

DUI 3rd 
.15+ 

DUI 
4th 

DUI 4th 
.15+ 

DUI 1st 17   1      

DUI 1st .15+ 2 64        

DUI 2nd  5        

DUI 2nd .15+  5 11 43      

DUI 3rd  2  5 1     

DUI 3rd .15+     1 8    

DUI 4th       2   

DUI 4th .15+      3 4 2  

DUI 5th         1 

DUI 5th .15+        2 2 
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Douglas County Overview page 2 
DUI 1st       DUI 1st .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 137         Cases found guilty: 31 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine $500 

Fees (Average) $225 Fees (Average) $229 

Jail 35 cases; 1-90 days Jail 25 cases; 2-60 days 

Probation 106 cases; 4-18 months Probation 22 cases; 6-18 months 

Revoked License 136 cases; 60-180 days Revoked License 31 cases; 6-12 months 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 135 Interlock 31 

Victim Impact Panel 34 Victim Impact Panel 5 

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA 1 

Alcohol Education 9 Alcohol Education  

Community Service 2 cases; 20-40 hours Community Service 2 cases; 120 hours 

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 2nd      DUI 2nd .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 62    Cases found guilty: 37 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine $1,000 

Fees (Average) $367 Fees (Average) $416 

Jail 59 cases; 10-150 days Jail 37 cases; 2-120 days 

Probation 43 cases; 9-24 months Probation 26 cases; 9-24 months 

Revoked License 62 cases; 18 months Revoked License 37 cases; 1-5 years 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 62 Interlock 36 

Victim Impact Panel 9 Victim Impact Panel 1 

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service 2 cases; 240 hours Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Douglas County Overview page 3 
DUI 3rd       DUI 3rd .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 18    Cases found guilty: 20 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $1,000 Fine $1,000 

Fees (Average) $643 Fees (Average) $791 

Jail 18 cases; 30-365 days Jail 16 cases; 6 days-3 yrs 

Probation 13 cases; 18-36 months Probation 17 cases; 9 months-4yrs 

Revoked License 18 cases; 18 mo. -15 yrs Revoked License 20 cases; 5-15 years 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 18 Interlock 9 

Victim Impact Panel 1 Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 4th Sanctions      DUI 4th .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 5     Cases found guilty: 5 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $2,000 Fine $2,000 

Fees (Average) $950 Fees (Average) $1,470 

Jail 5 cases; 24 days-2yrs Jail 5 cases; 120 days-10yrs 

Probation 5 cases; 1-5 years Probation 1 case; 4 years 

Revoked License 4 cases; 15 years Revoked License 5 cases; 15 years 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 3 Interlock 5 

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Gage County Overview 2018 
Demographics: 

Males 53 

Females 20 

 
Age Range of Offender: 

16 – 20 years 3 

21 – 25 years 21 

26 – 39 years 30 

40+ years 19 

Average Age of Offender 33 

 
Case Information: 

Cases Analyzed 73 

Adjudicated* 72 

Bench Warrant 0 

Open Cases 1 

Average Length of Case* 129 Days 

*Numbers do not include Bench Warrant Cases or Open Cases 

Adjudication Summary: 

Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 39 

Not Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 0 

Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 10 

Not Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 0 

Pleas to Non DUI Charge 16 

Dismissed 7 

Transferred 0 

 

Amended Case Information: 

 

Non 
DUI 

DUI 
1st 

DUI 1st 
.15+ 

DUI 
2nd 

DUI 2nd 
.15+ 

DUI 
3rd 

DUI 3rd 
.15+ 

DUI 
4th 

DUI 1st 13        

DUI 1st .15+  2       

DUI 2nd 3 4 1      

DUI 2nd .15+    1     

DUI 3rd  1       

DUI 3rd .15+      1   

DUI 4th         

DUI 4th .15+         
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Gage County Overview page 2 
DUI 1st       DUI 1st .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 41          Cases found guilty: 1 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine $500 

Fees (Average) $252 Fees (Average) $490 

Jail 16 cases; 7 days Jail 1 case; 2 days 

Probation 25 cases; 6-12 months Probation 1 case; 12 months 

Revoked License 41 cases; 2-6 months Revoked License 1 case; 12 months 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 4 Interlock 1 

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 2nd      DUI 2nd .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 4     Cases found guilty: 0 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine  

Fees (Average) $457 Fees (Average)  

Jail 2 cases; 30 days Jail  

Probation 2 cases; 15-18 months Probation  

Revoked License 4 cases; 18 months Revoked License  

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 4 Interlock  

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service 2 cases; 240 hours Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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 Gage County Overview page 3 
DUI 3rd       DUI 3rd .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 3     Cases found guilty: 0 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $1,000 Fine  

Fees (Average) $780 Fees (Average)  

Jail 3 cases; 10-30 days Jail  

Probation 2 cases; 3 years Probation  

Revoked License 3 cases; 15 years Revoked License  

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 3 Interlock  

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 4th       DUI 5th .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 0     Cases found guilty: 0 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine  Fine  

Fees (Average)  Fees (Average)  

Jail  Jail  

Probation  Probation  

Revoked License  Revoked License  

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock  Interlock  

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Hall County Overview 2018 
Demographics: 

Males 239 

Females 55 

 
Age Range of Offender: 

16 – 20 years 27 

21 – 25 years 60 

26 – 39 years 121 

40+ years 86 

Average Age of Offender 34 

 
Case Information: 

Cases Analyzed 294 

Adjudicated* 293 

Bench Warrant 0 

Open Cases 1 

Average Length of Case* 122 Days 

*Numbers do not include Bench Warrant Cases or Open Cases 

Adjudication Summary: 

Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 187 

Not Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 2 

Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 54 

Not Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 0 

Pleas to Non DUI Charge 17 

Dismissed 33 

Transferred 0 

 

Amended Case Information: 

 

Non 
DUI 

DUI 
1st 

DUI 1st 
.15+ 

DUI 
2nd 

DUI 2nd 
.15+ 

DUI 
3rd 

DUI 3rd 
.15+ 

DUI 
4th 

DUI 4th 
.15+ 

DUI 
5th 

DUI 1st 16  11 1       

DUI 1st .15+  12         

DUI 2nd 1 10 1  1      

DUI 2nd .15+   2 4  1     

DUI 3rd    2 2      

DUI 3rd .15+    1 1 1     

DUI 4th           

DUI 4th .15+       2 1   

DUI 5th .15+          1 
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 Hall County Overview page 2 
DUI 1st       DUI 1st .15+ 

Cases found guilty:  164        Cases found guilty: 22 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine $500 

Fees (Average) $119 Fees (Average) $189 

Jail 27 cases; 1-60 days Jail 18 cases; 2-30 days 

Probation 112 cases; 6-12 mo to court 
28 cases; 3-24 months 

Probation 1 cases; 6 mo to court 
22 cases; 6-18 months 

Revoked License 163 cases; 30-180 days Revoked License 22 cases; 60-365 days 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 160 Interlock 21 

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 2nd      DUI 2nd .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 31    Cases found guilty: 7 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine $1,000 

Fees (Average) $317 Fees (Average) $123 

Jail 26 cases; 10-90 days Jail 7 cases; 30-365 days 

Probation 2 case; 9-12 mo to court  
21 cases; 6-18 months 

Probation 1 case; 18 mo to court  
2 cases; 12 months 

Revoked License 31 cases; 45 days-5yrs Revoked License 7 cases; 18mo-10yrs 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 31 Interlock 7 

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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 Hall County Overview page 3 
DUI 3rd       DUI 3rd .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 5     Cases found guilty: 4 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $1,000 Fine $1,000 

Fees (Average) $428 Fees (Average) $785 

Jail 5 cases; 15-365 days Jail 4 cases; 60 days-3yrs 

Probation 3 cases; 24-36 months Probation 4 cases; 12-60 months 

Revoked License 5 cases; 2-15 years Revoked License 4 cases; 5-15 years 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 5 Interlock 4 

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 4th Sanctions      DUI 4th .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 6     Cases found guilty: 2  

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $1,000 Fine $0 

Fees (Average) $660 Fees (Average) $665 

Jail 6 cases; 90 days-3yrs Jail 2 cases; 120 days 

Probation 3 case; 12-60 months Probation 2 cases; 60 months 

Revoked License 6 cases; 15 years Revoked License 2 cases; 15 years 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 6 Interlock 2 

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Lancaster County Overview 2018 
Demographics: 

Males 273 

Females 68 

 
Age Range of Offender: 

16 – 20 years 21 

21 – 25 years 55 

26 – 39 years 163 

40+ years 102 

Average Age of Offender 35 

 
Case Information: 

Cases Analyzed 341 

Adjudicated* 337 

Bench Warrant 0 

Open Cases 4 

Average Length of Case* 205 Days 

*Numbers do not include Bench Warrant Cases or Open Cases 

Adjudication Summary: 

Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 312 

Not Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 1 

Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 13 

Not Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 0 

Pleas to Non DUI Charge 2 

Dismissed 9 

Transferred 0 

 

Amended Case Information: 

 

Non 
DUI 

DUI 
1st 

DUI 1st 
.15+ 

DUI 
2nd 

DUI 2nd 
.15+ 

DUI 
3rd 

DUI 3rd 
.15+ 

DUI 
4th 

DUI 4th 
.15+ 

DUI 1st 1         

DUI 1st .15+  1        

DUI 2nd  4        

DUI 2nd .15+   2 1      

DUI 3rd 1         

DUI 3rd .15+      2    

DUI 4th    1      

DUI 4th .15+       1 1  

DUI 5th          
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 Lancaster County Overview page 2 
DUI 1st       DUI 1st .15+ 

Cases found guilty:  116        Cases found guilty: 57 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine $500 

Fees (Average) $107 Fees (Average) $119 

Jail 12 cases; 7-14 days Jail 7 cases; 2 - 17 days 

Probation 10 cases; 9-12 months Probation 8 cases; 12-18 months 

Revoked License 116 cases; 60-180 days Revoked License 57 cases; 1 year 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 115 Interlock 56 

Victim Impact Panel 8 Victim Impact Panel 4 

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education 2 Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest 95 cases; 7-21 days House Arrest 48 cases; 2-30 days 

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 2nd      DUI 2nd .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 32    Cases found guilty: 67 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine $1,000 

Fees (Average) $159 Fees (Average) $685 

Jail 7 cases; 45-120 days Jail 16 cases; 60-120 days 

Probation 4 cases; 18 months Probation 55 cases; 24 months 

Revoked License 32 cases; 18 months Revoked License 67 cases; 2-3 years 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 32 Interlock 67 

Victim Impact Panel 4 Victim Impact Panel 52 

Attitudinal Dynamics 1 Attitudinal Dynamics 8 

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service 1 case; 240 hours Community Service 1 case; 100 hours 

House Arrest 25 cases; 10-60 days House Arrest 54 cases; 16-90 days 

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Lancaster County Overview page 3 
DUI 3rd       DUI 3rd .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 13    Cases found guilty: 26 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $1,000 Fine $1,000 

Fees (Average) $887 Fees (Average) $984 

Jail 4 cases; 180-300 days Jail 26 cases; 2-36 months 

Probation 8 cases; 36 months Probation 25 cases; 1-5 years 

Revoked License 13 cases; 5-15 years Revoked License 26 cases; 5-15 years 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 11 Interlock 11 

Victim Impact Panel 7 Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics 1 Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service 1 case; 100 hours Community Service  

House Arrest 10 cases; 30 days House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 4th Sanctions      DUI 4th .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 9      Cases found guilty: 4 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $1,000 Fine $2,000 

Fees (Average) $627 Fees (Average) $1,193 

Jail 9 cases; 90 days-7yrs Jail 4 cases; 6-48 months 

Probation 8 cases; 18-48 months Probation 2 cases; 5 years 

Revoked License 8 cases; 15 years Revoked License 4 cases; 15 years 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 4 Interlock  

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Lancaster County Overview page 4 
DUI 5th       DUI 5th .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 1      Cases found guilty: 0 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $0 Fine  

Fees (Average) $0 Fees (Average)  

Jail 1 case; 10-12 years Jail  

Probation  Probation  

Revoked License 1 case; 15 years Revoked License  

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock  Interlock  

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

  



 
 

37 
 

Lincoln County Overview 2018 
Demographics: 

Males 109 

Females 33 

 
Age Range of Offender: 

16 – 20 years 3 

21 – 25 years 21 

26 – 39 years 64 

40+ years 54 

Average Age of Offender 38 

 
Case Information: 

Cases Analyzed 142 

Adjudicated* 142 

Bench Warrant 0 

Open Cases 0 

Average Length of Case* 129 Days 

*Numbers do not include Bench Warrant Cases or Open Cases 

Adjudication Summary: 

Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 60 

Not Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 3 

Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 67 

Not Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 0 

Pleas to Non DUI Charge 6 

Dismissed 6 

Transferred 0 

Amended Case Information: 

 

Non 
DUI 

DUI 
1st 

DUI 1st 
.15+ 

DUI 
2nd 

DUI 2nd 
.15+ 

DUI 
3rd 

DUI 3rd 
.15+ 

DUI 
4th 

DUI 4th 
.15+ 

DUI 1st 6  1       

DUI 1st .15+  30        

DUI 2nd  6 1       

DUI 2nd .15+  5 3 7      

DUI 3rd  1        

DUI 3rd .15+    1 4 3    

DUI 4th      1    

DUI 4th .15+      1 2   

DUI 5th           

DUI 5th .15+       1   
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 Lincoln County Overview page 2 
DUI 1st       DUI 1st .15+ 

Cases found guilty:  72        Cases found guilty: 20 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine $500 

Fees (Average) $230 Fees (Average) $294 

Jail 19 cases; 2-90 days Jail 17 cases; 2-7 days 

Probation 5 cases; 1-2 months to court 

49 cases; 6-18 months 
Probation 1 case; 1 month to court 

11 cases; 6-12 months 

Revoked License 71 cases; 60-365 days Revoked License 20 cases; 6-18 months 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 65 Interlock 19 

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 2nd      DUI 2nd .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 12    Cases found guilty: 11 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine $1,000 

Fees (Average) $430 Fees (Average) $576 

Jail 11 cases; 10-30 days Jail 11 cases; 30-135 days 

Probation 7 cases; 18 months Probation 6 cases; 18 months 

Revoked License 12 cases; 18 months Revoked License 11 cases; 18mo.-3yrs 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 12 Interlock 11 

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Lincoln County Overview page 3 
DUI 3rd       DUI 3rd .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 6      Cases found guilty: 5 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $1,000 Fine $1,000 

Fees (Average) $675 Fees (Average) $553 

Jail 6 cases; 30-150 days Jail 5 cases; 60-240 days 

Probation 5 cases; 14-24 months Probation 4 cases; 18mo.-4yrs 

Revoked License 6 cases; 2-15 years Revoked License 5 cases; 5-15 years 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 6 Interlock 5 

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 4th Sanctions      DUI 4th .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 1     Cases found guilty: 0 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $0 Fine  

Fees (Average) $310 Fees (Average)  

Jail 1 case; 364 days Jail  

Probation  Probation  

Revoked License 1 case; 15 years Revoked License  

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 1 Interlock  

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
 

  



 
 

40 
 

Madison County Overview 2018 
Demographics: 

Males 80 

Females 19 

 
Age Range of Offender: 

16 – 20 years 10 

21 – 25 years 17 

26 – 39 years 43 

40+ years 29 

Average Age of Offender 35 

 
Case Information: 

Cases Analyzed 99 

Adjudicated* 99 

Bench Warrant 0 

Open Cases 0 

Average Length of Case* 129 Days 

*Numbers do not include Bench Warrant Cases or Open Cases 

Adjudication Summary: 

Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 43 

Not Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 0 

Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 42 

Not Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 0 

Pleas to Non DUI Charge 13 

Dismissed 1 

Transferred 0 

 

Amended Case Information: 

 

Non 
DUI 

DUI 
1st 

DUI 1st 
.15+ 

DUI 
2nd 

DUI 2nd 
.15+ 

DUI 
3rd 

DUI 3rd 
.15+ 

DUI 
4th 

DUI 4th 
.15+ 

DUI 1st 12         

DUI 1st .15+  21        

DUI 2nd 1 3        

DUI 2nd .15+  2 4 7      

DUI 3rd    2      

DUI 3rd .15+      2    

DUI 4th      1    

DUI 4th .15+          

DUI 5th          
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 Madison County Overview page 2 
DUI 1st       DUI 1st .15+ 

Cases found guilty:  45        Cases found guilty: 17 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine $500 

Fees (Average) $202 Fees (Average) $262 

Jail 18 cases; 7-60 days Jail 7 cases; 2-45 days 

Probation 28 cases; 6-24 months Probation 8 cases; 6-24 months 

Revoked License 45 cases; 60-180 days Revoked License 16 cases; 6-12 months 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 37 Interlock 16 

Victim Impact Panel 25 Victim Impact Panel 5 

Attitudinal Dynamics 13 Attitudinal Dynamics 2 

AA 8 AA 6 

Alcohol Education 24 Alcohol Education 3 

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 2nd      DUI 2nd .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 11    Cases found guilty: 2 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine $1,000 

Fees (Average) $387 Fees (Average) $55 

Jail 11 cases; 10-90 days Jail 2 cases; 120 days 

Probation 3 cases; 24-60 months Probation  

Revoked License 11 cases; 18 months Revoked License 2 cases; 2-3 years 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 11 Interlock 2 

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA 2 AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Madison County Overview page 3 
DUI 3rd      DUI 3rd .15+ 

Cases found guilty:  4        Cases found guilty: 3 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $1,000 Fine $1,000 

Fees (Average) $253 Fees (Average) $755 

Jail 4 cases; 30-365 days Jail 3 cases; 60days-18mo. 

Probation 1 case; 18 months Probation 3 cases; 18-24 months 

Revoked License 4 cases; 10-15 years Revoked License 3 cases; 7-15 years 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 4 Interlock 3 

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 4th      DUI 4th .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 0      Cases found guilty: 2 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine  Fine $0 

Fees (Average)  Fees (Average) $166 

Jail  Jail 2 cases; 2-4 years 

Probation  Probation  

Revoked License  Revoked License 2 cases; 15 years 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock  Interlock 1 

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Madison County Overview page 4 
DUI 5th      DUI 5th.15+ 

Cases found guilty:  0        Cases found guilty: 1 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine  Fine $0 

Fees (Average)  Fees (Average) $148 

Jail  Jail 1 case; 5-7 years 

Probation  Probation  

Revoked License  Revoked License 1 case; 15 years 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock  Interlock 1 

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Platte County Overview 2018 
Demographics: 

Males 107 

Females 27 

 
Age Range of Offender: 

16 – 20 years 10 

21 – 25 years 23 

26 – 39 years 62 

40+ years 39 

Average Age of Offender 35 

 
Case Information: 

Cases Analyzed 134 

Adjudicated* 134 

Bench Warrant 0 

Open Cases 0 

Average Length of Case* 125 Days 

*Numbers do not include Bench Warrant Cases or Open Cases 

Adjudication Summary: 

Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 58 

Not Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 0 

Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 46 

Not Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 0 

Pleas to Non DUI Charge 17 

Dismissed 13 

Transferred 0 

 

Amended Case Information: 

 

Non 
DUI 

DUI 
1st 

DUI 1st 
.15+ 

DUI 
2nd 

DUI 2nd 
.15+ 

DUI 
3rd 

DUI 3rd 
.15+ 

DUI 
4th 

DUI 4th 
.15+ 

DUI 1st 14         

DUI 1st .15+ 2 14        

DUI 2nd 1 1        

DUI 2nd .15+  2 9 6      

DUI 3rd    4 1     

DUI 3rd .15+    1  3    

DUI 4th  1    1    

DUI 4th .15+          

DUI 5th .15+        2 1 
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 Platte County Overview page 2 
DUI 1st       DUI 1st .15+ 

Cases found guilty:  48        Cases found guilty: 32 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine $500 

Fees (Average) $245 Fees (Average) $310 

Jail 9 cases; 30 days Jail 31 cases; 2-45 days 

Probation 41 cases; 6-12 months Probation 28 cases; 6-12 months 

Revoked License 48 cases; 2-12 months Revoked License 32 cases; 1 year 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 47 Interlock 32 

Victim Impact Panel 1 Victim Impact Panel 6 

Attitudinal Dynamics 1 Attitudinal Dynamics 1 

AA 3 AA 10 

Alcohol Education 30 Alcohol Education 20 

Community Service  Community Service 1 case; 120 hours 

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 2nd      DUI 2nd .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 12    Cases found guilty: 4 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine $1,000 

Fees (Average) $290 Fees (Average) $62 

Jail 10 cases; 10-45 days Jail 4 cases; 30-120 days 

Probation 8 cases; 9-12 months Probation 1 case; 9 months 

Revoked License 12 cases; 12-18 months Revoked License 4 cases; 18-24 months 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 12 Interlock 4 

Victim Impact Panel 1 Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA 3 AA 1 

Alcohol Education 2 Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Platte County Overview page 3 
DUI 3rd      DUI 3rd .15+ 

Cases found guilty:  5       Cases found guilty: 0 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $1,000 Fine  

Fees (Average) $189 Fees (Average)  

Jail 5 cases; 30-364 days Jail  

Probation 2 case; 12-18 months Probation  

Revoked License 5 cases; 2-15 years Revoked License  

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 5 Interlock  

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA 1 AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 4th      DUI 4th .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 2      Cases found guilty: 1 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $2,000 Fine $0 

Fees (Average) $1,323 Fees (Average) $10 

Jail 2 cases; 90 days Jail 1 case; 30-40 months 

Probation 2 cases; 3-4 years Probation  

Revoked License 2 cases; 15 years Revoked License 1 case; 15 years 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 2 Interlock 1 

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Sarpy County Overview 2018 
Demographics: 

Males 226 

Females 66 

 
Age Range of Offender: 

16 – 20 years 12 

21 – 25 years 54 

26 – 39 years 126 

40+ years 100 

Average Age of Offender 36 

 
Case Information: 

Cases Analyzed 292 

Adjudicated* 292 

Bench Warrant 0 

Open Cases 0 

Average Length of Case* 167 Days 

*Numbers do not include Bench Warrant Cases or Open Cases 

Adjudication Summary: 

Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 121 

Not Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 0 

Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 150 

Not Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 0 

Pleas to Non DUI Charge 16 

Dismissed 5 

Transferred 0 

Amended Case Information: 

 

Non 
DUI 

DUI 
1st 

DUI 1st 
.15+ 

DUI 
2nd 

DUI 2nd 
.15+ 

DUI 
3rd 

DUI 3rd 
.15+ 

DUI 
4th 

DUI 
4th 
.15+ 

DUI 5th 
.15+ 

DUI 1st 15          

DUI 1st .15+  59   1      

DUI 2nd  6    1     

DUI 2nd .15+   3 52       

DUI 3rd 1   1       

DUI 3rd .15+  1  1 2 17     

DUI 4th           

DUI 4th .15+      2 2 1   

DUI 5th .15+         1  
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 Sarpy County Overview page 2 
DUI 1st       DUI 1st .15+ 

Cases found guilty:  124     Cases found guilty: 25 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine $500 

Fees (Average) $232 Fees (Average) $264 

Jail 59 cases; 3-60 days Jail 20 cases; 2-15 days 

Probation 69 cases; 6-24 months Probation 13 cases; 6-24 months 

Revoked License 123 cases; 2-6 months Revoked License 25 cases; 6-365 days 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 119 Interlock 25 

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA 10 AA 2 

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service 12cases; 15-30 hours Community Service 4 cases; 20-120 hours 

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 2nd      DUI 2nd .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 65    Cases found guilty: 22 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine $1,000 

Fees (Average) $536 Fees (Average) $448 

Jail 356cases; 10-180 days Jail 21 cases; 7-180 days 

Probation 53 cases; 12-60months Probation 15 cases; 15-60 months 

Revoked License 63 cases; 18 months Revoked License 22 cases; 1-15yrs 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 62 Interlock 21 

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA 11 AA 4 

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service 13 cases; 20-40 hours Community Service 2 cases; 20-30 hours 

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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 Sarpy County Overview page 3 
DUI 3rd       DUI 3rd .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 25    Cases found guilty: 5 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $1,000 Fine $1,000 

Fees (Average) $498 Fees (Average) $1,542 

Jail 25 cases; 30-365 days Jail 4 cases; 60 days-18mo 

Probation 18 cases; 18-60 months Probation 4 case; 4-5 years 

Revoked License 25 cases; 2-15 years Revoked License 4 cases; 5-15 years 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 25 Interlock 4 

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA 2 AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service 9 cases; 4-50 hours Community Service 2 cases; 5-80 hours 

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 4th Sanctions      DUI 4th .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 1     Cases found guilty: 3 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $2,000 Fine $2,000 

Fees (Average) $1,830 Fees (Average) $490 

Jail 1 case; 60 days Jail 3 cases; 90 days-12yrs 

Probation 1 case; 5 years Probation 1 case; 4 years 

Revoked License 1 case; 15 years Revoked License 3 cases; 15 years 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 1 Interlock 3 

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Sarpy County Overview page 4 
 

DUI 5th Sanctions      DUI 5th .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 0     Cases found guilty: 1 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine  Fine $0 

Fees (Average)  Fees (Average) $0 

Jail  Jail 1 case; 8-16 years 

Probation  Probation  

Revoked License  Revoked License 1 case; 15 years 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock  Interlock 1 

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Saunders County Overview 2018 
Demographics: 

Males 38 

Females 9 

 
Age Range of Offender: 

16 – 20 years 4 

21 – 25 years 9 

26 – 39 years 18 

40+ years 16 

Average Age of Offender 35 

 
Case Information: 

Cases Analyzed 47 

Adjudicated* 47 

Bench Warrant 0 

Open Cases 0 

Average Length of Case* 157 Days 

*Numbers do not include Bench Warrant Cases or Open Cases 

Adjudication Summary: 

Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 15 

Not Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 0 

Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 22 

Not Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 0 

Pleas to Non DUI Charge 10 

Dismissed 0 

Transferred 0 

 

Amended Case Information: 

 

Non 
DUI 

DUI 
1st 

DUI 1st 
.15+ 

DUI 
2nd 

DUI 2nd 
.15+ 

DUI 
3rd 

DUI 3rd 
.15+ 

DUI 
4th 

DUI 4th 
.15+ 

DUI 1st 6         

DUI 1st .15+ 3 11   1     

DUI 2nd  2        

DUI 2nd .15+ 1   4      

DUI 3rd    2      

DUI 3rd .15+      2    

DUI 4th          

DUI 4th .15+          

DUI 5th          
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 Saunders County Overview page 2 
DUI 1st       DUI 1st .15+ 

Cases found guilty:  21       Cases found guilty: 1 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine $500 

Fees (Average) $200 Fees (Average) $0 

Jail 7 cases; 7-30 days Jail 1 case; 30 days 

Probation 14 cases; 6 months Probation  

Revoked License 21 cases; 60 -180 days Revoked License 1 case; 365 days 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 21 Interlock 1 

Victim Impact Panel 9 Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA 2 AA  

Alcohol Education 3 Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 2nd      DUI 2nd .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 8     Cases found guilty: 2 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine $1,000 

Fees (Average) $271 Fees (Average) $525 

Jail 8 cases; 10-45 days Jail 2 cases; 30 days 

Probation 5 cases; 9-18 months Probation 2 cases; 9 months-2yrs 

Revoked License 8 cases; 12-18 months Revoked License 2 cases; 18 months 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 8 Interlock 2 

Victim Impact Panel 3 Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA 2 AA 1 

Alcohol Education 1 Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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 Saunders County Overview page 3 
DUI 3rd       DUI 3rd .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 4     Cases found guilty: 1 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $1,000 Fine $1,000 

Fees (Average) $478 Fees (Average) $570 

Jail 4 cases; 30-180 days Jail 1 case; 18 months 

Probation 2 cases; 24-36 months Probation 1 case; 18 months 

Revoked License 4 cases; 2-15 years Revoked License 1 case; 15 years 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 3 Interlock 1 

Victim Impact Panel 1 Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 4th Sanctions      DUI 4th .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 0     Cases found guilty: 0 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine  Fine  

Fees (Average)  Fees (Average)  

Jail  Jail  

Probation  Probation  

Revoked License  Revoked License  

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock  Interlock  

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Saunders County Overview page 4 
DUI 5th      DUI 5th .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 0     Cases found guilty: 1 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine  Fine  

Fees (Average)  Fees (Average)  

Jail  Jail 48-96 months 

Probation  Probation  

Revoked License  Revoked License 15 years 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock  Interlock 1 

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Washington County Overview 2018 
Demographics: 

Males 60 

Females 21 

 
Age Range of Offender: 

16 – 20 years 3 

21 – 25 years 14 

26 – 39 years 28 

40+ years 38 

Average Age of Offender 38 

 
Case Information: 

Cases Analyzed 81 

Adjudicated* 81 

Bench Warrant 0 

Open Cases 0 

Average Length of Case* 149 Days 

*Numbers do not include Bench Warrant Cases or Open Cases 

Adjudication Summary: 

Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 46 

Not Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 0 

Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 25 

Not Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 0 

Pleas to Non DUI Charge 9 

Dismissed 1 

Transferred 0 

Amended Case Information: 

 

Non 
DUI 

DUI 
1st 

DUI 1st 
.15+ 

DUI 
2nd 

DUI 2nd 
.15+ 

DUI 
3rd 

DUI 3rd 
.15+ 

DUI 
4th 

DUI 4th 
.15+ 

DUI 
5th 

DUI 1st 7          

DUI 1st .15+  8         

DUI 2nd 2 2   1      

DUI 2nd .15+   2 6       

DUI 3rd           

DUI 3rd .15+      3     

DUI 4th      1     

DUI 4th .15+           

DUI 5th      1     

DUI 5th .15+          1 
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Washington County Overview page 2 
DUI 1st       DUI 1st .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 30          Cases found guilty: 16 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine $500 

Fees (Average) $253 Fees (Average) $254 

Jail 2 cases; 7 days Jail 13 cases; 2-10 days 

Probation 27 cases; 6 months Probation 11 cases; 6-12 months 

Revoked License 27 cases; 60-180 days Revoked License 16 cases; 60-365 days 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 30 Interlock 15 

Victim Impact Panel 23 Victim Impact Panel 5 

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education 22 Alcohol Education 5 

Community Service  Community Service 2 cases; 120 hours 

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 2nd      DUI 2nd .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 9     Cases found guilty: 6 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine $1,000 

Fees (Average) $464 Fees (Average) $580 

Jail 7 cases; 2-45 days Jail 6 cases; 30-100 days 

Probation 8 cases; 12-24 months Probation 5 case; 12-24 months 

Revoked License 9 cases; 18 months Revoked License 6 cases; 18-24 months 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 9 Interlock 6 

Victim Impact Panel 2 Victim Impact Panel 2 

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA 2 

Alcohol Education 2 Alcohol Education  

Community Service 2 cases; 240 hours Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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 Washington County Overview page 3 
DUI 3rd       DUI 3rd .15+ 

Cases found guilty:  5     Cases found guilty: 2 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $1,000 Fine $1,000 

Fees (Average) $278 Fees (Average) $605 

Jail 5 cases; 1-11months Jail 2 cases; 1-9 months 

Probation 3 cases: 18-30 months Probation 2 cases; 12-24 months 

Revoked License 5 cases; 3-15 years Revoked License 2 cases; 3-15 years 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 4 Interlock 2 

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 4th       DUI 5th  

Cases found guilty: 0     Cases found guilty: 1 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine  Fine $0 

Fees (Average)  Fees (Average) $0 

Jail  Jail 1 case; 3-6 years 

Probation  Probation  

Revoked License  Revoked License 15 years 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock  Interlock 1 

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Washington County Overview page 4 
DUI 5th      DUI 5th .15+ 

Cases found guilty:  1     Cases found guilty: 1 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $0 Fine $0 

Fees (Average) $390 Fees (Average) $0 

Jail 1 case; 15 months Jail 1 case; 40 months-8 yrs 

Probation 1 case; 12 months Probation  

Revoked License 1 case; 15 years Revoked License  

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 1 Interlock  

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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York County Overview 2018 
Demographics: 

Males 30 

Females 5 

 
Age Range of Offender: 

16 – 20 years 3 

21 – 25 years 6 

26 – 39 years 12 

40+ years 14 

Average Age of Offender 37 

 
Case Information: 

Cases Analyzed 35 

Adjudicated* 35 

Bench Warrant 0 

Open Cases 0 

Average Length of Case* 103 Days 

*Numbers do not include Bench Warrant Cases or Open Cases 

Adjudication Summary: 

Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 17 

Not Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 0 

Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 11 

Not Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 0 

Pleas to Non DUI Charge 6 

Dismissed 1 

Transferred 0 

 

Amended Case Information: 

 

Non 
DUI 

DUI 
1st 

DUI 1st 
.15+ 

DUI 
2nd 

DUI 2nd 
.15+ 

DUI 
3rd 

DUI 3rd 
.15+ 

DUI 
4th 

DUI 4th 
.15+ 

DUI 1st 3         

DUI 1st .15+ 3 7        

DUI 2nd  1        

DUI 2nd .15+   1 2      

DUI 3rd          

DUI 3rd .15+          

DUI 4th          

DUI 4th .15+          

DUI 5th          
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York County Overview page 2 
DUI 1st       DUI 1st .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 20          Cases found guilty: 6 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine $500 

Fees (Average) $420 Fees (Average) $218 

Jail 12 cases; 7-10 days Jail 6 cases; 2-10 days 

Probation 10 cases; 6 months Probation 3 case; 6-9 months 

Revoked License 20 cases; 60-180 days Revoked License 6 cases; 1 year 

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 20 Interlock 6 

Victim Impact Panel 4 Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics 1 Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA 1 AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 2nd      DUI 2nd .15+ 

Cases found guilty: 2      Cases found guilty: 0 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine $500 Fine  

Fees (Average) $420 Fees (Average)  

Jail 2 cases; 2 days Jail  

Probation 2 cases; 9-12 months Probation  

Revoked License 2 cases; 12-18 months Revoked License  

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock 2 Interlock  

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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 York County Overview page 3 
DUI 3rd       DUI 3rd .15+ 

Cases found guilty:  0     Cases found guilty: 0 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine  Fine  

Fees (Average)  Fees (Average)  

Jail  Jail  

Probation  Probation  

Revoked License  Revoked License  

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock  Interlock  

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 4th       DUI 5th  

Cases found guilty: 0     Cases found guilty: 0 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 

Fine  Fine  

Fees (Average)  Fees (Average)  

Jail  Jail  

Probation  Probation  

Revoked License  Revoked License  

Impound License  Impound License  

Interlock  Interlock  

Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  

Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  

AA  AA  

Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  

Community Service  Community Service  

House Arrest  House Arrest  

Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Conclusion 

Overall, Nebraska continues to have some of the strongest DUI laws in the nation. 
While inconsistencies in the types of sanctions exist, overall offenders are being taken 
off the streets. Numerous factors impact how law enforcement, prosecutors and judges 
adjudicate DUI cases. These may include city ordinances, state and federal laws, 
technical issues with breath testing equipment and circumstances of each individual 
case. 
 
Currently, there are many strong statutes and laws in place for the adjudication of DUI 
cases. One concern from this report is the number of cases being amended to a lesser 
DUI charge or a non-DUI charge. Overall, 42% of the cases analyzed were amended. 
An offender who is arrested for a DUI 2nd should not be allowed to plea down to a lesser 
charge – the offender needs to be held accountable. Another area of interest is the high 
rate of offenders taking House Arrest.  
 
Observations generated from this report include: 
 

 All fifteen counties utilized Fines, Fees, Jail, Probation, Revoked License and 
Ignition Interlock consistently as sanctions for DUI offenders. Depending on the 
DUI offense, fines range from $500 - $2,000, probation ranged from 1-12 months 
(up to 5 years for DUI 4th .15+), and revoked license ranged from 60 days to 15 
years for DUI 3rd.15+ and higher cases.  
 

 Adams, Buffalo, Dodge, Douglas, Lancaster, Madison, Platte, Sarpy, Saunders 
and Washington also sanctioned some type of additional education component in 
the form of Victim Impact Panel, AA, Alcohol Education and/or Attitudinal 
Dynamics). A few counties did sentence Community Service. 
 

 Lancaster County was the main county to utilized House Arrest as a sanction. Of 
the 325 cases found guilty, 232 cases (71%) of those offenders received House 
Arrest. 

 

 Ignition Interlock was ordered for 89% of the adjudicated cases. There is no way 
for MADD to know if the offender had the device installed in their car or for how 
long. One reason offenders may not have had Ignition Interlock ordered as a 
sanction could be they are not eligible per DMV. 

 

 Adams, Buffalo, Hall and Lincoln Counties utilized Probation to the Court 
primarily for DUI 1st, DUI 1st .15+ and DUI 2nd offenses. 

 
MADD will continue to analyze DUI cases and sanctions and build on this database. 
Volunteers will continue to be trained to attend court, and staff will keep talking with 
community partners and strengthening relationships. Education is a vital component of 
the Court Monitoring program. 


